Return to the Library Fae Journal Templates >>

Appendix A: Player Handbook

What follows is a short summary of the FAE Handbook. For detailed rulings, as well as in-depth information about the different stats and skills available to players, consult the full book instead. If you'd like to link this section to your players without linking the entire manual, follow this link.
FAE is a game about kinks, sins and virtues. In order to make gameplay simpler, we've boiled down the essence of the handbook for you to read and refer to when you feel lost! To aid in this purpose, we also divided this handbook into three sections: Setup, Sins/Virtues and Gameplay.


 When starting FAE, you first need to decide what you want to play and how you want to play it. Your GM, or Game Master, might have let you choose a setting or campaign to play in, but creating your character needs to be an effort on your part. Ask yourself some or all of these questions:
 These questions might seem irrelevant to you at first. More often than not, however, these questions can break down boundaries between yourself and your group. Knowing what others like, and what you like, might surprise you. You might have never known Jerry and Kathleen were into pet-master kinks unless your group brought it up, or that Jenny was deathly squicked to vomit. What's important is that your GM knows your yucks and your yums before you begin.
 Try to remember: don't yuck someone else's yum. That means if Jerry likes scat, it's not your job to tell them they should feel bad about it. But this doesn't mean you have to put up with it! Play something you both like, not something only one of you will enjoy. 'Don't yuck someone else's yum' means to be open, and play will be more fun than it would if you had kept your opinions inside.
 Once you've gotten a good idea of what character you want to play, you need to pick their primary sins and virtues! Characters start with 5 points to spend among Virtues and Sins, and have 1 point in each Sin and Virtue to begin with! These points can also be used to gain skills, but your GM will help you with that. To figure out what sins and virtues you want to gain, read the next section. Afterwards, put together your Journal and you're done!


There are 7 sins and 7 virtues that act as your stats in FAE. The 7 Virtues tend to represent an honest and 'good' life, though not necessarily a heroic one. The 7 Sins represent a deceitful and 'evil' life, yet not necessarily a villainous one. There do exist two other stats-- Corruption and Corruptibility-- but these are a measure of your proximity to death or insanity, and not a reflection of your character.

General Use: Purity keeps you from getting corrupted and dismissing sexual propositions.

Temperance(TEM)DrinkingN/APoison ResistPhysical ResistFae Skills

General Use: Temperance is used to resist physical attacks and poisons. Players who invest in TEM can increase the lifetime of their Plot Armor. TEM is essential for combat-oriented characters.


General Use: Sacrifice is unconditional love, especially towards a god or deity. This is not the kind of love you would have towards your siblings or your lover, but the sort of love that extends to all things in the universe. This love can be corrupted into doing


General Use: Diligence is the domain of hard work and vigor. Players roll domain when the use of muscles and strength is required, as in wrestling, logging and showcasing their physique. It's also used when gathering materials in bulk.


General Use: Patience is used in magic, meditation and mental attacks.


General Use: Kindness is used in taming, raising kids and planting. Also, resolving disputes.


General Use: Humility is the knowledge that an individual is not the most important person in the world. It passively gives resistance to mental attacks, allows for the user to get small favors like shelter, food and water for free and is their general 'good' reputation.


General Use: Lust is rolled when trying to be sexually, verbally or physically appetizing. It makes players more attractive to all sorts of monsters, and player's hermaphroditic forms mean that all individuals find some side of them beautiful. It's also rolled when having children... and represents your sexual intelligence.

Gluttony(GUT)Drug EffectivenessEatingN/AN/A

General Use: Gluttony rolls are used when taking drugs such as health potions and alcohol or eating lots of food. Any item which has a stat effect is 'technically' classified as a drug, for the purposes of GUT, and it's possible to eat things alive if you're big, stretchy or a slime-like construct. Vore fans rejoice, I guess.


General Use: Avarice is rolled when looking for trouble, treasure or a hot deal on hot pants. It is a player's innate greediness as well as their general luck.


General Use: Sloth is the stat of lazy and apathetic characters. SLO is rolled when sleeping or resting, as well as when passing the time without any particular aim. On a SLO roll, some or all of a player's Plot Armor can be recovered, and the Inner Realms accessed...


General Use: Wrath is a unique statistic that measures the level of violence a player experiences at any given moment, and is prone to wild fluctuation. Every encounter, situation and problem can be thoroughly obliterated with enough rage, and clarity of mind can only be maintained at low levels of WRA.


General Use: Envy(ENV) is used to be sneaky and a liar. ENV is essential for rogues.


General Use: Pride is your negative reputation, haughtiness and the fear players generate in others. Not only does PRI allow players to resist requests for aid, it also allows them to demand that others aid them-- or suffer the consequences.

StatCorruptibility (CPT)

Main Use: CPT is a stat used in COR rolls.


General Use: Corruption is the inverse of your health. When you power up, it increases too.

Special Use: Roll COR by rolling your PUR and comparing it to CPT. If it rolls 1 or less than CPT, gain COR. Otherwise, gain CPT.